Welcome, Guest | | Sign Up | Start My Bookshelf

What are You Currently Reading?

Share what you're currently reading so we can recommend books you'll love

I'm not reading anything
Your Home for Great Conservative Books

 

National Review Comes Out “Against Trump”

by Christopher N. Malagisi

New Picture (5)

National Review, the flagship conservative magazine started by conservative icon William F. Buckley, Jr, has released their latest issue of NR titled “Against Trump.” Numerous conservative leaders, columnists, and luminaries have come out against Donald Trump for the GOP nomination believing that Donald Trump is a “menace to the conservative movement,” and that the GOP primary (especially in Iowa) is a “battle for the soul of the conservative movement.”

“If Trump were to become the president, the Republican nominee, or even a failed candidate with strong conservative support, what would that say about conservatives? The movement that ground down the Soviet Union and took the shine, at least temporarily, off socialism would have fallen in behind a huckster. The movement concerned with such “permanent things” as constitutional government, marriage, and the right to life would have become a claque for a Twitter feed.”

Contributors included Glenn Beck, Brent Bozell, Mona Charen, Erick Erickson, Steven Hayward, Bill Kristol, Yuval Levin, Dana Loesch, Andrew McCarthy, Ed Meese, John Podhoretz, Cal Thomas, Thomas Sowell, and many more.

What do you think? Comment below and let us know.

National Review Article Link

Comments


  1. Jane

    Stop..berating TRUMP. He is what we need. I am sure The BUSH’S came crying to you for help for ole DUMBO JEB

    January 25, 2016,5:39 am


  2. Roni

    I don’t like the way
    Trump presents himself. He is vulga and obnoxious. I would be embarrassed to have him presenting my country. I cannot understand why Christians would vote for him after the way he shamed our Lord in his last speech. He is shameful.

    January 23, 2016,9:21 pm


  3. Roni

    I don’t like the way Trump presents himself. He is vulgar and obnoxious. I would be embarrassed to have him presenting my country.

    January 23, 2016,9:11 pm


  4. Joe Brooks

    NR has morphed into Neo Con free trading, open borders socialists.

    Ignore their propaganda and I research the issues for myself.

    January 23, 2016,10:14 am


  5. Anna Gleason

    Well said Dorothy. Thank you. Yet, approximately 3 months ago NR endorsed Paul Ryan as Speaker of the House a man with a two decade history of pushing open borders immigration policies in charge of the Republican Party’s entire legislation agenda. In fact, President Obama was pleased with their choice. GO TRUMP!

    January 23, 2016,6:58 am


  6. Dorothy

    I am not a Democrat and if this article is by the GOP and they don’t pick Trump, I will return to independent!!! Trump gives us hope for the future and I honestly don’t trust any of the others, including Democrats!! Bernie wants the whites to apologize to the blacks, NO!!!

    January 22, 2016,11:51 pm


  7. Edwin Sheldon

    Nobody I know WANTS to vote for Hilary (Republican OR Democrat).
    Nobody I know WILL vote for Donald OR Ted. We’d rather write-in Alfred E Newman!

    EDWARD GAVALEK – that attitude is the REASON neither of these men should be president of this DEMOCRACY! Leave the country yourself!!!

    January 22, 2016,8:58 pm


  8. Anna Gleason

    When the voters elected the Republicans and they took control of both the House and Senate, they did nothing. They did, however, spends tons of money to crush the Tea Party in lieu of stopping the Obama train wreck. Donald Trump is not the problem. Apparently, they and the authors of this article are living on another planet. GO DONALD!

    January 22, 2016,8:26 pm


  9. Mary Clark

    Yes, I agree. Trump is no conservative. His history reflects solid democrat/liberal stances. I don’t trust Trump to take our Nation where it needs to be.

    January 22, 2016,8:23 pm


  10. Edward Gavalek

    If they don’t like Trump, feel free to leave the country. Renounce your citizenship and then come back as a refugee.

    January 22, 2016,7:40 pm


  11. Clint

    Just another reason I am voting for Donald Trump!

    January 22, 2016,6:40 pm


  12. Anthony Conte

    I absolutely agree with NR! I have been saying precisely the same thing about Trump for months. I congratulate NR for educating its audience rather than pandering to it as too many conservative talk show hosts have done. I only hope that Trump’s supporters will take the time to read NR’s essays (if they are able to read) rather than dismissing any criticism of the charlatan blowhard out of hand as so many have done.

    January 22, 2016,6:18 pm


  13. Robert C Stewart

    Who is Donald Trump? He is a business person with no morals or integrity. In business he has declared bankruptcy four times and in his personal life he has taken marriage vows three times. So he has promised to love, honor, cherish, and protect while forsaking all others to a particular woman three different times. So much for keeping his promises, both in his professional life and his personal. Other than his words and his theatrics what else do we have to go on? When others have criticized him he has responded with personal attacks. Like our current president who ran on hope and change with little or no details; Trump is going to make America great again but the devil is in the details.
    Our other options:
    Cruz has a track record you can see what he has voted for and what he has done. Good bad depends on your opinion.
    Rubio again a track record and you can sort it out but it is there for your examination.
    Carson again though not in the political realm a very public and honorable track record
    Fiorina not so much, I think she would be good because even if she blew the HP position she was in the running. That is kind of like a line in ‘Night Court’ where the judge says he may not be the best but at least he was on the list. As a person whole has an MBA and course work on a PhD and know that I am not even in the same building as Fiorina makes me give her more credibility than I give Trump.
    Is Trump better than Hillary? Marginally I fear if he gets the nod, he will blow the election for his good friend Bill or will accept a payoff from that machine. Realize he is in it for the power and the money because that is all his history shows that motivates him. He is the least attractive candidate on the GOP side.

    January 22, 2016,5:34 pm


  14. dennis phinney

    curtis IS Right!

    January 22, 2016,5:33 pm


  15. curtis

    The establishment is showing how scared they are of Trump.This just tells me that Trump is the one to vote for ! GO TRUMP !

    January 22, 2016,5:23 pm


  16. Ron Pyles

    What I think is that if the view point of the narrow minded National Review editors and contributors holds sway we will end up with Hillary or Bernie in the White House for the next eight years at the end of which conservative principles will be dead in the United States. This country was created by founders who knew how to compromise, course correct, and operate with a long term perspective. The people who put this issue together would be well served by going back to the beginning; but, unfortunately, they don’t have a clue about how to take our country back.

    January 22, 2016,5:19 pm


  17. Hugh Tjardon

    My subscription hangs in the balance. One more negative article about Trump by either the editorial board or Jonah Goldberg will be the end of it. RINOs are RINOs and the new CINOs are equally dangerous.

    January 22, 2016,5:13 pm


  18. Gen Yvette Sutton

    Nat’l Review has NOT been conservative for a long time. I c’d my 5 family subscriptions months ago. They are GOP establishment, consequently, irrelevant in this election.

    January 22, 2016,5:04 pm


  19. JL

    Test 5.

    January 22, 2016,3:58 pm


  20. Mike Joenks

    Having voted for the Republican Party’s presidential candidate in every election since 1972, even if I did not totally agree with the choice of the party, I will not vote for Trump. His insulting comments about Senator McCain and his lack of details with regards to any and all issues facing our country has made him unsuitable to lead our country.

    January 22, 2016,12:51 pm

More Articles About

X
CBC Daily

Hear from your favorite conservative authors!

Get daily polls, cartoons, author interviews, and more!

Sign Up